OAMR logo

oregon Association of municipal recorders

Promoting Education & Professionalism since 1983

Log in

President's Award of Distinction

Peggy Hawker, MMC, City of Newport

2021 President's Award of Distinction 

The 2021 President’s Award of Distinction was presented to Peggy Hawker, MMC, City of Newport. This award is given to an OAMR member who has contributed greatly to a committee of OAMR or has performed exceptional work for OAMR.

Peggy is one of OAMR’s biggest supporters and advocates. She is a wealth of knowledge, always willing to share her experiences, advice, and guidance. She is willing to jump in whenever and wherever needed to make things happen, such as the transition to a virtual conference, which she did while on vacation, and has likely served on or chaired every committee in OAMR, and quite possibly IIMC at least once. She is a strong advocate of education and works diligently to build a portfolio of presenters to draw from for our Annual Mid-Year Academy and Annual Conference. While she will be retiring in a few months, OAMR is very fortunate that she will continue as an active member. Angie is very thankful for Peggy’s willingness and desire to still be involved, and for taking on the challenge to mentor her as she transitions into the chair of the education committee.

Angie Lanter, MMC, Immediate Past PresidentCity Recorder,
City of Banks


As Municipal Recorders, we are at the center of municipal government and play an important role in city government, as well as in the structure of our communities as a whole. Often, we look “outside” ourselves for acknowledgement and recognition. In this case, however, we ask you to look inside our organization, at what you and other City Recorders have accomplished this year.

The President’s Award of Distinction is awarded to an OAMR member who has contributed greatly to a committee of OAMR or has performed exceptional work for OAMR. Nominations for this award are accepted only from OAMR members.


    1. Any individual member or board member may submit a confidential nomination to the President no later than Friday, August 7, 2020.
    2. The President shall select a recipient for the “Award of Distinction” from the membership of OAMR. There may be years in which there are no outstanding nominees. The decision of the President is final.
    3. Recognition will be at the annual conference and will include presentation of a plaque and complimentary registration at the following year’s annual OAMR conference. The registration is not transferable, and can only be used by the award winner.
    4. Criteria for selection are as follows:
        • Any OAMR member in good standing is eligible, with the exception of the President, First Vice President, and Second Vice President. A member in good standing means a fully paid member.
        • The nominee must have made an outstanding contribution or performed outstanding service to OAMR during the association fiscal year.
        • Areas of nomination may include but are not limited to the following categories:
  • Leadership
  • OAMR Committee Work
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • OAMR Programs or Education Development
  • Other: __________________________

Please use the President's Award of Distinction Nomination Form to nominate a Recorder.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact:

Kathy Payne, MMC, OAMR President
City of St. Helens

Log in

Log in above to enjoy all OAMR member benefits.
Need help? Contact Internet Committee Chair

OAMR is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software